In 1921 the castle was handed over to the Latvian Ministry of Defence. After World War II up to 1993 Krustpils castle was under the management of the Soviet army. Since 1996 the castle has been housing the Jēkabpils History Museum. Guided tours are available offering to explore the castle’s history, view its regular exhibits and see the oldest fragments of the stone castle on the basement floor. The gateway tower offers a panoramic view of the city and contains art exhibitions as well. Tours with audio-guides are available in Latvian, Russian, English and German. Special offers: dipping of candles, making pewter jewellery, events “Nocturnal Fairy-tales in Krustpils Castle”, “Christmas Fairy-tale”, etc.