Mission of the Museum is to discover and represent the unique history of the River Daugava as well as the one of town Salaspils and its surroundings from 8000 BC till the present day being a significant part of both European and Latvian cultural heritage.
Museum of the River Daugava was established in 1969, the exhibition was opened for visitors in 1977. During the first decades it was named the Dole History Museum while holding the present designation since 1993. The Museum is subjected to the Municipality of Salaspils since 1996.
The idea about creating the Museum appeared in the context of the Riga hydroelectric power plant (HPP) construction works carried out here in 1966-1976. Before the Riga HPP reservoir was created in the river valley, extensive archaeological investigation took place in this territory providing a rich amount of material culture remains dating back to the first human settlements created on the territory of present-day Latvia.
The Museum of the River Daugavas manages three buildings: the former dwelling house, or residence, of the Dole Manor where exhibition room as well as administration office and part of the collection is located, and two more buildings used for keeping the collection and technical purposes.
Park surrounding the Dole Manor residence was layed out in the second half of the 18th century when the Dole Manor belonged to a Baltic-German nobleman Otto Hermann von Vietinghof-Scheel (1722-1792)