In 1209, Bishop Albert built the stone castle to replace a former wooden castle that had been built by Latvians. In 1701, during the Great Northern War, Saxon cannon fire blew the castle up while withdrawing from the territory. Since that time the castle has survived as ruins. Until 1966 the castle ruins stood high on a hill, but its foundations were submerged into the rivers of Daugava and Perse after the Pļaviņas hydroelectric power plant was built on the Daugava. To revive the fame and glory of old, theatrical performances, concerts, coin minting events, Medieval-style and traditional Latvian wedding ceremonies are held at the ruins, and the Catfish Waking Festival has become a new tradition at this site.
Address: Kokneses parks, Kokneses pagasts, Kokneses novads, LV-5113
Phone: +371 29275412, +371 65161296